Research Members

The Alberta Diabetes Institute researchers are a multidisciplinary team of experts from several different University of Alberta faculties as well as the University of Calgary working together in our 5 areas of research to answer the difficult questions surrounding diabetes. This holistic approach to diabetes research aims to accelerate discovery of new treatments for people suffering from the disease. 

Faculty of Agricultural, Life & Environmental Sciences

Name

Title

Department

Phone

Email

Bell, Rhonda

Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.7742

rhonda.bell@ualberta.ca

Buteau, Jean

Associate Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.8386

jbuteau@ualberta.ca

Chan, Catherine

Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.9939

cathy.chan@ualberta.ca

Clandinin, Tom

Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.5188

tom.clandinin@ualberta.ca

Field, Catherine

Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.2597

catherine.field@ualberta.ca

Jacobs, Rene 

Associate Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.2343

rjacobs@ualberta.ca

Mager, Diana 

Associate Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.7687

mager@ualberta.ca

Mazurak, Vera

Associate Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.8048

vera.mazurak@ualberta.ca

Prado, Carla Assistant Professor  Agric, Food and Nutritional Science  780.492.7934 carla.prado@ualberta.ca 

Proctor, Spencer

Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.4672

spencer.proctor@ualberta.ca

Vine, Donna

Associate Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.4393

donna.vine@ualberta.ca

Walter, Jens
 Associate Professor  Agric, Food and Nutritional Science  780.492.1182 jwalter1@ualberta.ca 

Willows, Noreen

Associate Professor

Agric, Food and Nutritional Science

780.492.3989

noreen.willows@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Faculty of Law

 

 

 

 

Name

Title

Department

Phone

Email

Caulfield, Tim

Professor

Faculty of Law

780.492.8358

caulfield@ualberta.ca

 

Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry

Name

Title

Department

Phone

Email

Agrawal, Babita

Professor

Surgery

780.492.0929

babita.agrawal@ualberta.ca

Anderson, Colin

Professor

Surgery

780.492.6036

colinand@ualberta.ca

Ball, Geoff

Associate Professor

Pediatrics

780.342.8465

geoff.ball@ualberta.ca

Bleackley, Chris

Professor

Biochemistry

780.492.3968

chris.bleackley@ualberta.ca

Denise Campbell-Scherer  Associate Professor Family Medicine   780.616.2560 denise.campbell-scherer@ualberta.ca 

Cheeseman, Chris

Professor

Physiology

780.492.2620

chris.cheeseman@ualberta.ca

Dyck, Jason

Professor

Pediatrics

780.492.0314

jason.dyck@ualberta.ca

Elliott, John

Professor

Medicine

780.492.0895

john.elliott@ualberta.ca

Febbraio, Maria  Professor  Dentistry 780-492-3066  febbraio@ualberta.ca 

Girgis, Rose

Associate Professor

Pediatrics

780.248.5482

rgirgis@ualberta.ca

Haqq, Andrea

Associate Professor

Pediatrics

780.492.0015

haqq@ualberta.ca

Jindal, Kailash

Professor

Medicine

780.407.1098

kailash.jindal@ualberta.ca

Korbutt, Greg

Professor

Surgery

780.492.4657

korbutt@ualberta.ca

Kurata, Harley Associate Professor   Pharmacology 780.492.9177  kurata@ualberta.ca 

Lehner, Richard

Professor

Pediatrics

780.492.2963

richard.lehner@ualberta.ca

Light, Peter

Professor

Pharmacology

780.492.0638

peter.light@ualberta.ca

Lopaschuk, Gary

Professor

Pediatrics

780.492.1236

gary.lopaschuk@ualberta.ca

MacDonald, Patrick

Associate Professor

Pharmacology

780.492.8063

patrick.macdonald@ualberta.ca

Majumdar, Sumit

Professor

Medicine

780.492.9824

me2.majumdar@ualberta.ca

McAlister, Finlay

Professor

Medicine

780.407.1399

finlay.mcalister@ualberta.ca

Oudit, Gavin

Associate Professor

Medicine

780.407.8569

gavin.oudit@ualberta.ca 

Padwal, Raj

Associate Professor

Medicine

780.492.7711

rajdeep.padwal@ualberta.ca

Rajotte, Ray

Professor

Surgery and Medicine

780.492.1212

rrajotte@ualberta.ca

Rayat, Gina

Associate Professor

Surgery

780.492.6894

grayat@ualberta.ca

Rosolowsky, Elizabeth

Assistant Professor

Pediatrics

780.248.5483

rosolows@ualberta.ca

Ryan, Edmond

Professor

Medicine

780.407.3636

edmond.ryan@ualberta.ca

Sauve, Yves

Associate Professor

Physiology

780.492.8609

ysauve@ualberta.ca

Senior, Peter

Professor

Medicine

780.407.1480

petersenior@ualberta.ca

Shapiro, James

Professor

Surgery

780.407.7330

jshapiro@ualberta.ca

Sharma, Arya

Professor

Medicine

780.735.5860

amsharm@ualberta.ca

Sharma, Sangita

Professor

Medicine

780.492.3214

gita.sharma@ualberta.ca

Tennant, Matthew

Associate Clinical Professor

Ophthalmology

780.448.1801

mtennant@ualberta.ca

Toth, Ellen

Professor

Medicine

780.407.8176

ellen.toth@ualberta.ca

Tse, Amy

Professor

Pharmacology

780.492.5796

amy.tse@ualberta.ca

Vance, Dennis

Professor

Biochemistry

780.492.8286

dennis.vance@ualberta.ca

West, Lori

Professor

Pediatrics

780.492.3200

ljwest@ualberta.ca

Wevrick, Rachel

Professor

Medical Genetics

780.492.7908

rachel.wevrick@ualberta.ca

Yeung, Roseanne

Assistant Professor

Medicine  

587-930-3037 

ryeung@ualberta.ca 

Yue, Jessica

Assistant Professor  Physiology  780-248-5804  jessica.yue@ualberta.ca 

Zochodne, Douglas

Professor

Medicine

780.407.1680

zochodne@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Name

Title

Department

Phone

Email

Simpson, Scot

Associate Professor

Pharmacy Practice

780.492.7538

scot@ualberta.ca

Ussher, John Assistant Professor  Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences  780-492-9337 jussher@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation

Name

Title

Department

Phone

Email

Boule, Normand

Associate Professor

Exercise Physiology and Biochemistry

780.492.4695

nboule@ualberta.ca

Davenport, Margie

Assistant Professor

Exercise Physiology and Biochemistry

780.492.0642

margie.davenport@ualberta.ca

Rodgers, Wendy

Professor

Behavioural Medicine and Health Psychology

780.492.2677

wendy.rodgers@ualberta.ca

Yardley, Jane

Assistant Professor

Physical Education (Augustana Campus)

780.679.1688

jeyardle@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

 

 

School of Public Health

Name

Title

Phone

Email

Eurich, Dean

Associate Professor

780.492.6333

deurich@ualberta.ca

Johnson, Jeffrey

Associate Professor

780.492.9266

jeff.jonhson@ualberta.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Members Outside the University of Alberta

Name

Title

Department

Phone

Email

Steven Johnson Associate Professor   Faculty of Health Disciplines, Athabasca University 1-877-848-6903  sjohnson@athabascau.ca 

Ungrin, Mark

Assistant Professor

University of Calgary

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Comparative Biology and Experimental Medicine

403.210.6203

mdungrin@ucalgary.ca